Structure and Organization of the Egmont Group of Financial Intelligence Units

The Heads of FIUs (HoFIUs), the Egmont Committee, the Working Groups, the Regional Groups and the Egmont Group Secretariat make up the operating structure of the Egmont Group.

Organizational Chart

Click the organizational chart to download a copy for print.

The Heads of FIUs

The HoFIUs comprise the Egmont Group’s governing body; making decisions on any matters that affect the Group’s membership, structure, budget and principles. The HoFIUs reach decisions by consensus. The HoFIUs communicate on a daily basis through the Egmont Secure Web and meet once a year in the Egmont Group Annual Plenary.

The Chair of the Egmont Group of Financial Intelligence Units

Mr. Sergio Espinosa

The Egmont Committee

The Egmont Committee serves as the consultation and coordination mechanism for the HoFIUs and the Working Groups. Its primary functions include assisting the Egmont Group in a range of activities, from internal coordination and administration, to representation at other international fora. It also oversees the work of the Egmont Group Secretariat. The Egmont Committee is comprised of permanent and regional members. The Egmont Committee is currently made up of the chair of the Egmont Group that serves as the chair of the Egmont Committee, two Vice-Chairs, the Chairs of the five working groups, regional representatives from Africa, Asia, Europe, the Americas and Oceania, a representative of the host of the Egmont Secure Website (FinCEN, United States), and the Executive Secretary of the Egmont Group.

The Working Groups

In order to accomplish its mission of development, cooperation, and sharing of expertise, the Egmont Group created five working groups. The working groups meet periodically and report to the HoFIUs about their activities. The working groups and their functions are as follows:

  • The IT Working Group (ITWG) provides advice and technical assistance to new and existing FIUs to develop, enhance, or redesign their IT systems, and examines new software applications that might facilitate analytical work.
  • The Legal Working Group (LWG) reviews the candidacy of potential members and handles all legal aspects and matters of principle within Egmont, including cooperation between FIUs.
  • The Operational Working Group (OpWG) seeks to bring FIUs together on typologies, development and long-term strategic analytical projects.
  • The Outreach Working Group (OWG) works to create a global network of FIUs by identifying candidates for membership and working with those FIUs to ensure that they meet the Egmont Group standards.
  • The Training Working Group (TWG) identifies training needs and opportunities for FIUs and their personnel, and conducts training seminars for Egmont members as well as for non-Egmont members’ jurisdictions.

The Egmont Group Secretariat

The Secretariat was established in July 2007 and is based in Toronto, Canada. It provides administrative and support to the overall activities of the HoFIUs, the Egmont Committee and the Working Groups. The Secretariat is headed by the Executive Secretary of the Egmont Group who is appointed by the HoFIUs and who reports to them through the Egmont Committee. The Secretariat comprises of: Senior Financial Officer, two Senior Officers, and an Executive Assistant/Office Manager.